Cross pollination

I’m busy making work for a joint exhibition called Making Time with my friend and fellow artist, Jan Miller. I was very inspired by my day with Native Hands which I’ve told you about and some ideas from that day are feeding into some new work. I just loved the stitched bark containers and have been developing some ideas using leather which I use quite a lot in my own work. The creative process is always so exciting when some cross pollination happens! It’s also very helpful to exchange ideas with like-minded people especially when I’ve been working on my own. Jan and I have met and also had several long phone conversations about our project and it has been very energising and encouraging especially when you reach that blank wall and need to talk.

I felt the same buzz yesterday when I went to a seminar at The National Centre for Craft & Design all about sustainability in our art practice and also saw the wonderful current exhibition Growing, celebrating their 10th anniversary.

Here’s a link to see more  http://nationalcraftanddesign.org.uk

About Mary Sleigh

Textile artist, tutor and author - passionate about fabrics, stitching and helping others to develop ideas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

